top of page

Skilled Nominated Visa Subclass 190

What is a Skilled Nominated Visa Subclass 190?

The Skilled – Nominated visa allows highly skilled workers who are nominated by an Australian State or Territory to live and work permanently in Australia. If you wish to apply for this visa, you must first obtain a positive skills assessment for your nominated occupation, and then lodge an Expression of Interest. If this is successful, and you are nominated by a State or Territory, you will be invited to lodge an application for this visa.

The minimum requirements of this visa are set out below:

Skilled – Nominated Visa Requirements

At the time that you are invited to apply for this visa, you must:

  • be under 45 years of age

  • nominate an occupation that is included on the relevant list of eligible skilled occupations: Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List – MLTSSL and Short-term Skilled Occupation List

  • have your skills assessed by the appropriate Australian skills assessing authority as suitable for your nominated occupation

  • have competent English i.e.

  • hold a valid passport issued by the UK, USA, Canada, New Zealand or the Republic of Ireland (and you are a citizen of that country) OR

  • an IELTS test score of at least 6 in EACH test component (OR equivalent approved English test)

NOTE: In each case, the test must have been undertaken within the last three years (with the exception of the CAE test, which must be dated on or after 1 January 2015)

  • score at least 65 on the relevant points test (which takes into account your age, English competency, qualifications and work experience, amongst other factors)

  • be nominated by an Australian State or Territory government agency

Application Process

Anyone who wishes to apply for this visa MUST first be nominated by an Australian State or Territory AND then be invited to lodge an application by the Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIBP).

In order to qualify for State/Territory nomination and an invitation to apply for this visa, you must lodge an ‘Expression of Interest’ (EOI), which sets out how you meet the requirements for this visa.

Stage 1: Initial Eligibility Assessment

The first step that we will take is to conduct an initial assessment of your eligibility for this visa. This involves reviewing your qualifications, work experience, English language and other circumstances, to establish whether or not you are likely to meet the relevant requirements.


Stage 2: Skills Assessment

Should our initial assessment indicate that you are eligible for a positive skills assessment, nomination and EOI, we will prepare your skills assessment application.

Stage 3: Expression of Interest

Once you have received a positive skills assessment from the skills assessing authority, we will prepare and lodge your EOI. At this time, you will need to specify which Australian state or territory you wish to nominate your visa application. Alternatively, you can choose to be available for nomination by any State or Territory.

Provided you are successful in obtaining a State or Territory nomination (see below) and you meet all other relevant requirements, you will then be invited to lodge a visa application.

Stage 4: State/Territory Nomination

Once your EOI has been lodged, the government agency of the State or Territory that you have chosen will review your EOI to determine whether or not you meet their particular criteria for nomination (this includes the requirement that your nominated occupation be included on the skilled occupation list for that State/Territory).


Stage 5: Visa Application

Should your visa application be approved, you will be granted a permanent visa. You may be either in Australia or overseas when your visa is granted.

For a confidential personalised information session please contact us

bottom of page